Form Over Substance = Less Sustenance

Half Roast Beef Sandwich - Ordinary at Best....

Half Roast Beef Sandwich – Ordinary at Best….

logosWhen Corner Bakery came to Atlanta I still lived in Midtown. Every Saturday I stopped by after lunch to purchase incredible fresh bread loaves at two for the price of one. They have some of the best bread anywhere, but I’d only been once or twice for coffee and a sandwich or sweet treat. We had lunch there yesterday, and I don’t see myself running back. 10920 Haynes Bridge Rd. Suite 200 Alpharetta, 678.317.0224, http://www.cornerbakerycafe.com/locations/ga/alpharetta/north-point. I had the half sandwich and chili and was not thrilled with quantity, quality or value. The bread was good, but the roast beef tasted like a refrigerator, and was in no way rare. The cheese and concept were good, but the sum total was just blah. The chili was great, it was even hot (temperature), and they had abundant Tabasco sauce. The Oracle of Buckhead had a chicken Caesar, which he pronounced good, but short on saleschicken and long on croutons, which he chose not to eat. They looked like the best croutons I’ve ever seen, but bread should not be a major component of salad. Well, I guess I like it better than lettuce, but seriously. Dear Leader had a Santa Fe Ranch salad and did not appear in any way excited. We all debated grabbing a dessert on the way out, but declined. We left still hungry and in no hurry to return. Maybe for coffee and cake instead. Like we ever do that. Right.

The Chili is Quite Good!

The Chili is Quite Good!

pninisAlthough I’ve not really devoted a full review to this, I still feel comfortable examining the bottom line, so let’s take a look at the AFatBanker balance sheet, shall we?

balance-sheet-v1-screen

ASSETS: Good bread, interesting selection, variety.

LIABILITIES: Poor execution, low quality roast beef, smaller portions combined with bigger prices.

NET WORTH: I’m just not inclined to go back, as much as I think this place  A Southern Icon - The Waffle House!should be better. Two money bags – CB has failed to meet expectations and doesn’t deliver the goods.     –afb

Leave a comment