FitBanker Runs hot and Cold!

Curried Chicken & Rice Soup

Curried Chicken & Rice Soup

I love soup. I think that I have mentioned this fact before, and you may notice that I have soup as a first course or Asian soups as a meal often. There is no seasonality to my soup obsession; I like it winter and summer. Imagine my delight when in putting together the healthy dinner calendar I came across several healthy soup recipes. I planned on making the Indian inspired soup Sunday, and the Goddess requested gazpacho, so I ended up making both. Curried chicken and rice soup has the distinct and slightly spicy flavor of madras curry, as well as carrots, fresh mint and dill, and shredded chicken. It is thickened with well cooked rice that is pureed and mixed back into the remaining soup mixture. Excellent, and different too.

Yo, Gazpacho.

Yo, Gazpacho.

The gazpacho needs no recipe as I’ve made it many times, but this batch came out unusually good. I used fresh tomatoes, canned tomatoes, a can of Rotel, cucumber, red onion, 1 jalapeno, red bell pepper and a jar of V-8. I like it soupy. It’s seasoned with salt, pepper, EVOO, balsamic, lime juice, Worcestershire sauce, hot sauce, fresh basil, mint and a touch of cumin. All the herbs are, of course, from the garden of the FatFarmer. Once again, light and healthy can be very tasty. We don’t want to get too carried away, so healthy foods must be eaten only in moderation to create the perfect balance. After all, God needs the devil; The Beatles need The Stones, and gazpacho needs bacon double cheeseburgers to ensure that world continues spinning properly on its axis.   -AFitB

3 responses to “FitBanker Runs hot and Cold!

  1. How can I get some of those soups???

    Like

  2. Barbara Greenblatt

    Looks absolutely delicious

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  3. First you catch a chicken……

    Like

Leave a comment